Announcing the 2023 Calibre Design Awards

We are back and ready to celebrate design excellence!

The Calibre Design Awards recognize design excellence in commercial interior design in Southern California, and celebrate the teamwork required to deliver outstanding design.

We are excited to announce the return to the Beverly Hilton! More information to be released soon.


Online Submissions Open
December 5, 2022

Early Bird Submission Prices
December 5 – 31, 2022

Regular Submission Prices
January 1 – 20, 2023

Final Submissions Due
January 20, 2023

Gala Event
May 12, 2023

Click here to see the winners of the 2022 Calibre Design Awards. Here are the photos of last year’s event.


Work Large: 75,000 + sq. ft.

Work Medium: 20,001 – 74,999 sq. ft.

Work Small: under 20,000 sq. ft.

Public & Community Spaces: Government, institutional, courts, transportation, worship, museum, galleries, public libraries, community centers.

Education: Pre-school, elementary, secondary educational facilities, colleges and universities, long distance learning facilities, trade schools and institutes.

Healthcare: Hospitals, clinics, hospice/palliative care, cancer centers, pediatric care, long term care facilities, medical office buildings, mental health facilities, healing and wellness centers, therapy care.

Hospitality & Retail: Hotels, retail (point of sale, store, boutique, dispensaries), restaurants, country clubs, spas, and salons.

Multi-family Housing: Lobbies, communal and amenity spaces (indoor/outdoor).

Un-Built/On the Boards: Un-built projects including projects ‘on the boards’ including, design, strategy, and research. The project must be currently contracted by a client (no hypothetical projects allowed) and include a minimum of 3 team member firms.

Transformation: The Transformation award is for any project (regardless of type) that has transformed a space from one typology to another, repositioned a space, and/or converted from one use to another use.

People’s Choice: People’s Choice for any submission entered in the 10 categories. Voting will be online by all current IIDA SoCal members during a designated timeframe. To be considered for People’s Choice, the entrant must complete an additional 50 word summary narrative that briefly describes the project challenge and team’s solution. Winner will be announced live during the awards program.

Innovation: The Innovation award reflects a design solution that’s based on new thinking and problem solving, advances the profession of interior design, and/or advancements in regenerative/sustainable design and wellness; and social/societal impacts in equity, diversity and inclusion. Any submission entered in the 10 categories will be given consideration for this award by our jury panel.

Best of Calibre 2022: Best of Calibre selected by the Jury from the 10 category winners.

Arrow Created with Sketch. Back to Blog