San Diego NeoConnect 2015 | The Game Changer


The planning committee for NeoConnect San Diego 2015, led by new co-chairs Angela Lafica Turner (Cuningham Group Architecture) and Wendy Williams (bkm Officeworks) had a common goal, to breathe new life into NeoConnect, restoring it to its original intent as an opportunity for the San Diego A+D community to experience great design products.

The largest change this year was switching venues. Previously, the Hilton Bayfront served as the home for NeoConnect. However the committee felt it was not the best option for showing off the products. With a raw interior space and an outdoor, waterfront view court, the Broadway Pier Port Pavilion truly captured the essence of San Diego, and made for the perfect venue.


As a new way to involve and engage the design community, as well as bring designers the top products, the Best of NeoConnect SD competition was created. Six well-respected designers from the SD community were selected as judges and all manufacturers in the show were allowed to submit one product for judging. Participation from exhibitors was a huge success with a total of 49 entries submitted. This offered a unique opportunity for the design community to give input on what products are trending in San Diego specifically, even if not awarded nationwide. The submissions were compiled into a Pinterest board and Online Flipbook, and shared over social media.


The 6 judges narrowed the entries down to the Top 10 up for Best of Neoconnect SD Gold and Silver awards. These chosen products were then marked at the show with gold balloons, while a live text-to-vote poll projected the crowds’ winners:

Best of NeoConnect Gold Winner: Steelcase Brody Worklounge

Silver Winner (Tie): Crossville IMetalli

Silver Winner (Tie): Milliken Color Field

With these big and many other smaller changes, the 2015 NeoConnect was the best San Diego has had yet. It was exciting to see the community’s reactions and involvement.

Click here for more photos and the video of the event!

Thank you to all who planned, exhibited, sponsored and attended the 2015 SD NeoConnect! See you next year!

Angela Lafica Turner, NCIDQ, CID, IIDA, EDAC
Cuningham Group Architecture

Arrow Created with Sketch. Back to Blog